Navigation schließen
  • Foto: Claudia Höhne

Sun, Oct. 30, 2022, 11.00 am | Elbphilharmonie, Grand Hall

2nd Philharmonic Concert

Kent Nagano

Gabriel Fauré: Pelléas et Mélisande – Suite Op. 80

Claude Debussy: La Mer – three symphonic sketches

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Klavierkonzert Nr. 23, A-Dur, KV 488

Conductor: Kent Nagano
Piano: Evgeny Kissin
Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg

What does flowing music sound like? The Second Philharmonic Concert is dedicated to the musical aesthetics of the fin-de-siècle. Despite the concrete title La Mer, Debussy does not deliver an exact musical description of the sea in this popular orchestral piece, but renders an abstract impression of water movements, waves and tides through tones. Debussy is also known for his setting of Maurice Maeterlinck’s Pelléas et Mélisande, but Gabriel Fauré had already set his version of the story of the tragic lovers from Greek antiquity four years earlier. Evgeny Kissin is an ideal interpreter of this music.

Concert introduction
60 minutes before the start of the event there is an introduction to the concert program

Venue: Elbphilharmonie, Grand Hall, Platz der Deutschen Einheit 4, 20457 Hamburg
Prices: € 98,00 / 80,00 / 63,00 / 47,00 / 18,00

print save event (calendar)

powered by webEdition CMS