Navigation schließen

Fri, Dec. 11, 2020, 5.30 pm | Hauptkirche St. Michaelis

Special Concert at St. Michaelis

Kent Nagano & Dorothea Röschmann

Gabriel Fauré "Pie Jesu" from Requiem, Op. 48 for Soprano and String Orchestra

Anton Bruckner: String Quintet in F major (Arrangement for String Orchestra)

Conductor: Kent Nagano
Soprano: Dorothea Röschmann
Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg

Bruckner’s String Quintet is one of the few chamber music works by this great symphonic composer, yet it reveals the symphonic idiom of its creator at every turn. Bruckner’s biographer Mathias Hansen described it accordingly as “a faithful echo of Bruckner’s symphonies, played by one of Mahler’s off-stage orchestras”. Kent Nagano and the Philharmonic bring this echo to life in the sacred acoustic of St. Michaelis, presenting the work in a version for string orchestra. This is preceded by a reunion with Dorothea Röschmann: in the earlier concert, she sings the short, but exquisite and haunting “Pie Jesu” from Fauré’s Requiem; the second concert features Bach’s cantata “Mein Herze schwimmt im Blut”.

Advance ticket sales for this concert start on November 13, 2020.

Venue: Hauptkirche St. Michaelis, Englische Planke 1, 20459 Hamburg
Prices: € 41,00 / 36,00 / 26,00 / 16,00 / 8,00

print save event (calendar)

powered by webEdition CMS