Navigation schließen
  • Foto: Felix Broede

Thu, Nov. 05, 2020, 8.00 pm | Main Stage

1st Academy Concert live streaming

Kent Nagano

Matthew Ricketts: "Adrift" Clarinet Concerto (world premiere*)

Johannes Brahms: Serenade No. 2 in A major Op. 16

Conductor: Kent Nagano
Clarinet: Rupert Wachter
Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg

*Comissioned by Philharmonisches Staatsorchesters Hamburg

"When I travelled to Hamburg in January 2020 I was struck by how much of a 'sea city' Hamburg is. I knew it was a port city but still found myself surprised how much the ocean is part of the city... the canals, the ships and boats, the mist which seems to make buildings disappear suddenly (like the Elbphilharmonie, which itself obviously is designed to recall a ship of some kind). When I discovered that Rupert Wachter is in fact a sailing enthusiast, owns a boat and is an avid sailor, the piece-in-progress took on a nautical quality somehow. 'Adrift' refers to this sense of floating or wandering, a kind of buoyancy or liquidity of material, orchestrational shimmer like light on the water" - Matthew Ricketts about his new work.

Venue: Main Stage, Dammtorstraße 28, 20354 Hamburg

print save event (calendar)

powered by webEdition CMS