Navigation schließen
  • Foto: Claudia Höhne

Sat, Dec. 26, 2020, 8.15 pm | Hauptkirche St. Michaelis

Christmas concert stream from St. Michaelis

Kent Nagano & Dorothea Röschmann

Stefan Schäfer: „Yamaga“ for Violin solo and Strings (world premiere)

Johann Sebastian Bach: „Laudamus te“ from Mass in B Minor BWV 232

Anton Bruckner: Quintet in F Major (Arrangement for String orchestra by Hans Stadlmair)

Gabriel Fauré: „Pie Jesu“ from Requiem, Op. 48

Conductor: Kent Nagano
Soprano: Dorothea Röschmann
Violin: Konradin Seitzer
Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg

It is a special Christmas programme for difficult times: “Laudamus te” from Bach’s B-minor Mass, sung by Dorothea Röschmann, and the graceful String Quintet by Anton Bruckner arranged for string orchestra combine Christian doxology with a transcendental musical language. For this Christmas, which is overshadowed by the pandemic, Kent Nagano and the Philharmonic State Orchestra would like to continue our musical Christmas tradition in a special way – without jubilation, but with joy, poignancy and a festive spirit. The concert opens with a world premiere by Stefan Schäfer – the Philharmonic’s principal bass player – who wrote a short meditative work for solo violin and string orchestra under the impression of the orchestra’s last tour to Japan. The composition is named for the Japanese city of Yamaga in the prefecture of Kumamoto, which has been the site of several natural disasters. The concert closes with the famous “Pie Jesu” from Fauré’s Requiem, about which the composer said: “It has a gentle character, as I do.” Humility and a plea for deliverance are central to this 2020 Christmas concert.

For the concert stream click here.

Venue: Hauptkirche St. Michaelis, Englische Planke 1, 20459 Hamburg

print save event (calendar)

powered by webEdition CMS