• Foto: Felix Broede

Sunday 17. Nov. 2019, 11.00 am | Elbphilharmonie, Großer Saal

3rd Philharmonic Concert

Kent Nagano

Ludwig van Beethoven: Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage for choir and orchestra, Op. 112

Ludwig van Beethoven: Elegischer Gesang for choir and orchestra, Op. 118

Johannes Brahms: Schicksalslied for choir and orchestra, Op. 54

Johannes Brahms: Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 68

Conductor: Kent Nagano
Chorus Master: Eberhard Friedrich
Chor der Hamburgischen Staatsoper
Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg

Johannes Brahms’ First Symphony was a daring symphonic debut. It took a long time – all of fourteen years – until the composer finally dared to expose his opus to public scrutiny in 1876, enduring and standing up to the omnipresent shadow of Beethoven with his own creative spirit. As Clara Schumann confessed in joyful astonishment, the work is "strong and full of wondrous beauty".

One hour before the concert, dramaturge Janina Zell will give a pre-concert talk (in german).

Venue: Elbphilharmonie, Großer Saal, Platz der Deutschen Einheit 4, 20457 Hamburg
Prices: € 74,00 / 57,00 / 46,00 / 31,00 / 13,00

print save event (calendar)

powered by webEdition CMS