Sunday 15. Dec. 2019, 11.00 am | Elbphilharmonie, Großer Saal

4th Philharmonic Concert

Pinchas Steinberg

Antonín Dvorák: Carnival Overture, Op. 92

Bedrich Smetana: "Má Vlast" (My Country) – Cycle Of Symphonic Poems

Conductor: Pinchas Steinberg
Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg

Smetana’s life was overshadowed by dramatic political developments, but the events of his lifetime also inspired him to write heartfelt music lending a specific sound to the Czech people. Smetana was a supporter of Franz Liszt, writing programmatic works, especially tone poems of a very clearly discernible national colour. The political "Old Czechs", however, classified him as a follower of Wagner and Liszt, publicly vilifying Smetana, who was also the director of the new Czech National Theatre. The composer was deeply wounded by such defamation, and his health suffered significantly. During this phase of waning energy during the late 1870s, he wrote the six-part cycle "Má vlast", or "My Homeland". It contains musical and poetic images of landscapes and nature, of history and characteristics of his homeland.

One hour before the concert, dramaturge Janina Zell will give a pre-concert talk (in german).

Venue: Elbphilharmonie, Großer Saal, Platz der Deutschen Einheit 4, 20457 Hamburg
Prices: € 74,00 / 57,00 / 46,00 / 31,00 / 13,00

print save event (calendar)

powered by webEdition CMS