Navigation schließen
  • Foto: Claudia Höhne

Sun, Apr. 02, 2023, 11.00 am | Elbphilharmonie, Grand Hall

8th Philharmonic Concert

Kent Nagano

Johannes Brahms: Symphony No. 3 in F Major, Op. 90

Igor Strawinsky: Les Noces

Conductor: Kent Nagano
Soprano: Katerina Estrada Tretyakova
Alto: Judit Kutasi
Tenor: Sergey Skorokhodov
Bass: Alexander Roslavets
Staatschor Latvija
Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg

“It is pure love, and the heart soars as one listens to it,” said Antonín Dvořák, Brahms’ friend and colleague, about the beauty of the shortest of Johannes Brahms’ symphonies. Since its first performance in 1883, the Hanseatic composer’s Third Symphony has regularly led to rapturous enthusiasm. At its very beginning, Brahms quotes a motto he frequently used in his youth as an expression of his unbound and uncompromising nature: “Frei, aber froh” – “Free, but happy”. The work by Brahms, who remained unmarried his entire life, is combined in this concert, as if in musical answer from the modernist age, with a 1923 wedding depiction: Igor Stravinsky’s “Les Noces”. Variously described as a dance cantata or ballet with vocal parts, Stravinsky set the four tableaus of a Russian peasant wedding for a quartet of singers, chorus, four pianos and extensive percussion. The libretto by the composer himself is based on Russian wedding poetry. It is pure love…

Concert introduction
60 minutes before the start of the event there is an introduction to the concert program

Venue: Elbphilharmonie, Grand Hall, Platz der Deutschen Einheit 4, 20457 Hamburg
Prices: € 83,00 / 65,00 / 51,00 / 36,00 / 14,00

Buy tickets

print save event (calendar)

powered by webEdition CMS