Navigation schließen
  • Foto: Claudia Höhne

Sun, Aug. 22, 2021, 8.00 pm | Elbphilharmonie, Grand Hall

1st Academy Concert

Kent Nagano

Joseph Haydn: Symphonie Nr. 45 fis-Moll „Abschied“ Hob. I:45

Henri Tomasi: Konzert für Posaune und Orchester

Richard Strauss: Duett-Concertino für Klarinette und Fagott

Conductor: Kent Nagano
Trombone: João Martinho
Clarinet: Patrick Hollich
Bassoon: José Silva
Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg

“Music that does not come from the heart is not music,” Henri Tomasi is quoted as saying, and this sets the tone for an intriguing series of Academy Concerts. His Trombone Concerto, written in the spirit of French neoclassicism, reveals his clear predilection for wind and – especially – brass instruments.
At the end of his career, Richard Strauss also composed for wind and brass, including the programmatic Duet Concertino based on Andersen’s fairy-tale “The Swineherd”, which describes the encounter between the “princess” (clarinet) and the “dancing bear” (bassoon) in nostalgic hues.

Venue: Elbphilharmonie, Grand Hall, Platz der Deutschen Einheit 4, 20457 Hamburg
Prices: € 74,00 / 57,00 / 46,00 / 31,00 / 13,00

print save event (calendar)

powered by webEdition CMS