Navigation schließen
  • Foto: Claudia Höhne

Sun, Sep. 19, 2021, 11.00 am | Elbphilharmonie, Grand Hall

1st Philharmonic Concert

Kent Nagano

Alfred Schnittke: Concerto No. 3 for Violin and Chamber Orchestra

Texts by Matthias Claudius, Franz Schubert and others

Franz Schubert: String Quartet in D-minor D 810 “Death and the Maiden” (arranged for string orchestra by Gustav Mahler)

Conductor: Kent Nagano
Violin: Gidon Kremer
Rezitation: Martina Gedeck
Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg

“The quartet that delights all the world” – none lesser than Gustav Mahler used Schubert’s “Death and the Maiden”, originally conceived for string quartet, to create a multi-faceted string orchestra version during his tenure in Hamburg. In nostalgic moments, Alfred Schnittke, in turn, was influenced strongly by Mahler, developing a highly complex musical style which was characteristic for the second half of the 20th century. His Violin Concerto No. 3 is performed by Gidon Kremer, who gave the world premieres of several Schnittke works and whose personal relationship with the composer makes his interpretations particularly insightful.

Venue: Elbphilharmonie, Grand Hall, Platz der Deutschen Einheit 4, 20457 Hamburg
Prices: € 83,00 / 65,00 / 51,00 / 36,00 / 14,00

print save event (calendar)

powered by webEdition CMS