Navigation schließen
  • Foto: Claudia Höhne

Sun, Dec. 05, 2021, 11.00 am | Elbphilharmonie, Grand Hall

4th Philharmonic Concert

Kent Nagano

Arvo Pärt: “Swansong” for Orchestra (Hamburg Version, world premiere)

Igor Stravinsky: Concerto for Piano and winds

Arvo Pärt: “Fratres” for Violin, String Orchestra and Percussion

Robert Schumann: Symphony No. 4 in D-minor Op. 120

Conductor: Kent Nagano
Violin: Daniel Cho
Piano: Alexei Volodin
Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg

How much music can the life of an artist hold who is now 86 and who always tried to reach people through music? Yet Arvo Pärt says: “It is enough to play one single note beautifully.” In addition to his “Fratres”, this concert at the Elbphilharmonie also features the Hamburg version of his orchestral work “Swansong”, which is based on Pärt’s work “Littlemore Tractus” for choir and organ, commissioned 2014 by Salzburg’s Mozarteum Foundation. At the initiative of Kent Nagano, Pärt is now reconceiving it for the Hamburg Philharmonic State Orchestra. Alexei Volodin, one of the most sought-after pianists of his generation and acclaimed for his technical brilliance, performs the solo part in Stravinsky’s Concerto for Piano and Wind Instruments. This diverse programme is rounded out by Schumann’s Fourth Symphony.

Pre-Concert talk
60 minutes before the concert, there will be a pre-concert talk (in german) by Prof. Dr. Dieter Rexroth.

Venue: Elbphilharmonie, Grand Hall, Platz der Deutschen Einheit 4, 20457 Hamburg
Prices: € 74,00 / 57,00 / 46,00 / 31,00 / 13,00

print save event (calendar)

powered by webEdition CMS