Navigation schließen
  • Foto: Dieter Wuschanski

Sun, Jun. 12, 2022, 11.00 am | Elbphilharmonie, Grand Hall

9th Philharmonic Concert

Frank Beermann

Arnold Schoenberg: “Pelleas und Melisande” Symphonic Poem Op. 5

Camille Saint-Saëns: Danse macabre Op. 40

Maurice Ravel: Tzigane – Concert Phantasy for Violin and Orchestra

Maurice Ravel: La Valse – Choreographic Poem for Orchestra

Conductor: Frank Beermann
Violin: Arabella Steinbacher
Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg

“Zig, zig, zag / Death knocks, shrieking / At midnight Death plays a dance / on his violin, zig and zig and zag” – originally, Camille Saint-Saëns planned to set these verses by Henri Cazalis to music, creating a first draft of “Danse macabre” Op. 40 for voice and piano. Later, he reworked it into a symphonic poem: the “Dance of Death” is led by violin, with the orchestra imitating the rattling of bones and ghostly confusion. Somewhere in this macabre scene, however, the breath of life is felt. This impressionistic journey from symbolist stories such as “Pelléas et Mélisande” to flamboyant violin pieces and Parisian waltzes is led by conductor Frank Beermann.

Pre-Concert talk
60 minutes before the concert, there will be a pre-concert talk (in german) by Daniela Becker.

Children`s Program
Age 4-8 Spielplatz Orchester
Age 9-12 Kindereinführung und Konzertbesuch

Venue: Elbphilharmonie, Grand Hall, Platz der Deutschen Einheit 4, 20457 Hamburg
Prices: € 65,00 / 52,00 / 41,00 / 28,00 / 12,00

print save event (calendar)

powered by webEdition CMS