Navigation schließen
  • Foto:Claudia Höhne

Mon, Sep. 04, 2023, 8.00 pm | Elbphilharmonie, Grand Hall

3rd Academy Concert

Kent Nagano

Matthew Ricketts: "Adrift" Concerto for Clarinet and Orchestra (revised version 2022)

Vladimir Peskin: Trumpet Concerto No. 1 in C minor

Ludwig van Beethoven: Symphony No. 7 in A major op. 92

Conductor: Kent Nagano
Clarinet: Rupert Wachter
Trumpet: Felix Petereit
Philharmonisches Staatsorchester Hamburg

A Canadian living in New York: Matthew Ricketts, born in 1986, is one of the younger generation of composers on the other side of the Atlantic, who are not small but not yet widely known in this country, and who are currently extremely profitable to discover. His Clarinet Concerto was commissioned by the Philharmonic State Orchestra in 2020 - here it can now be experienced live in the revised version under the direction of Kent Nagano. Soloist is as three years ago Rupert Wachter. The Russian composer Vladimir Peskin is also not often found on German playbills. His first trumpet concerto revels in the late romantic tradition, and the solo part, played by Felix Petereit, has virtuosity to offer. Ludwig van Beethoven's Seventh, on the other hand, is - if there is such a thing - political music. He began the work in 1811 and, at its premiere in 1813, juxtaposed it with his orchestral work "Wellington's Victory," in which he celebrated Britain's victory over Napoleon in the form of a paraphrase of the British anthem "God save the King." The symphony bristles with jubilation and quasi-military rhythms; Richard Wagner later even spoke of an "apotheosis of dance".

Venue: Elbphilharmonie, Grand Hall, Platz der Deutschen Einheit 4, 20457 Hamburg
Prices: € 83,00 / 65,00 / 51,00 / 36,00 / 14,00

print save event (calendar)

powered by webEdition CMS